The Gift of Clairaudience: The Voice That Knows

being of lightDo you sometimes hear the thoughts of others? Have you ever reached for the phone to call a friend, only to have them call you first? Do you ever feel emotional, for no apparent reason, later to discover that a friend or loved one had been going through a very emotional time?  Learning how to process intuitive information has been the life’s work of Stephanie Rachel Alt, Clairaudient. In this article, she shares stories, exercises, and personal experiences to help you explore, develop and expand your intuition too.

 

Woman ocean thinkingWHAT IS CLAIRAUDIENCE?
I am clairaudient, which means that I hear information in spoken thoughts about people: their personalities, interests, emotional triumphs, and conflicts. I also hear words of warning, urgent messages, and guiding instructions. I discovered this when I was in my early twenties. After joining a Healing Circle run by Pat Rodegast, spiritual teacher and author of the Emmanuel Books, I learned to quiet the conscientious mind, listen, and speak from intuition, rather than from the voice of reason and logic. The more I intuited, the more accurate my perception became, and the more often, unusual things began to happen in my life.

 

DEVELOPING INTUITION
Like physical training, intuitive adeptness occurs with routine exercise. Developing your intuition begins with the belief that there is more operating than what you see, hear, and are able to touch: more than one stream of consciousness running at the same time.

 

Perception brainOur Conscientious Mind deals with daily activity, is present based, and is linear in it’s thinking. Our Intuitive Mind is collective, runs on instincts, stores our past history, and is boundless by nature.

Have you experienced unusual events? Have you ever had an intuition that something was going to happen in advance, and then much to your surprise it actually occurred? Do you recall saying,” I knew it”! after the fact? Can you remember how you received this information? Was it in a picture? Did you hear words? Perhaps you felt something unusual physically.

 

man meditateDISTINGUISH BETWEEN FEELINGS AND REACTIONS
What do you do once you perceive something out of the ordinary? There are three primary senses through which we process information:

  1. vision
  2. hearing
  3. physical sensations or feelings

You can learn to distinguish the differences between your intuitive feelings and emotional reactions.  There are ways focus and clarify your insights, and specific instructions help fine-tune your inner radio so you can hear the instinctive voice, what I refer to as the Voice of a Higher Calling.

 

woman surrenderVISION AND FAITH MAKE MIRACLES
There are also moments that seem to be “miracles,” or manifestations hopes and dreams. This area of my life is the most humbling.  My prayers being answered more than once have blessed me and given me courage to go on in the face of adversity. I offer the following story. These events reshaped the course of my life. (Miracles happening usually do!).

 

two girls walkingI remember saying “I am looking for my childhood friends, Alice and Janet, whom I haven’t seen in fifteen years. I want to bring my past and present together.”  An hour later I went to meet some people for lunch. Alice was standing directly in front of me, in a cafeteria, in New York City, of all places! And as fate would have it, Alice had recently been in touch with Janet’s family. I got Janet’s phone number and called. I told Janet about how I had run into Alice on the very day I spoke about finding both of them.

Again I heard myself saying, “Mark my words, I will meet you on the streets of New York soon.”

“O.K. she said, but I live in Philadelphia.”

There was a certainty in my words that was even surprising for me to hear. Everything felt congruent. And sure enough a few months later for some reason something moved me to walk a new way home, to cross the street. Walking towards me, only a block away was my best friend Janet! She was driving back to Pennsylvania after a trip to Vermont, and for some reason decided to stop in Manhattan, before heading home.

 

KNOWING WHEN TO TRUST INNER GUIDANCE
I often have been asked this question, “When you are listening for inner guidance and you hear many thoughts, how do you know which is the right one to listen to?”

The volume, pitch, tone, and emphasis of this voice is very specific, and differs from other voices I hear internally. Here’s an exercise.

  1. Recall emotionally packed scenarios that are inner dialog filled, like when you were feeling silly, or loving, worried or sad.
  2. Practice tuning into how your inner voices vary.
  3. Re-hear the sound of this inner voice, listening specifically for tone, tempo, volume, phrase, pitch, resonance.
  4. Now, remember a time when your intuition warned or encouraged you.
  5. Listen for the marked differences.

 

friendsThe more you listen for, and listen to, your instinctive voice, the more you will learn to recognize it.  Knowing what you feel specifically enables you to choose the best way to respond. Having faith in a higher power that is listening, and cares, has guided me to continue to ask. You can learn ways to ask more specifically, and discover how your prayers are answered accordingly.

 

Stephanie Rachel AltStephanie Rachel Alt, M.S. holds her Masters degree in Human Development/Counseling from Bank Street College of Education, New York, NY. She is a certified Master Practitioner of Neuro-Linguistic Programming (N.L.P.) and hypnosis. While on the East Coast, Stephanie worked for fifteen years as a therapist and consultant in medical and educational facilities. In 1986 she moved to Central California to collaborate with the co-founders of Neuro-Linguistic Programming in the publication of a casebook titled, Leaves Before the Wind (Metamorphosis Press). She is a Health Educator for the Monterey Bay Holistic Alliance.  Stephanie also worked as facilitator of N.L.P. training seminars with John Grinder, and Judith Delozier. In 1987 she started her private practice in Conscientious Communication/ Intuitive Coaching, working with individuals couples, families and groups. If you would like to join our Alliance, and submit a wellness article for our site, please contact us.

Disclaimer: The Monterey Bay Holistic Alliance is a charitable, independent registered nonprofit 501(c)3 organization and does not endorse any particular products or practices. We exist as an educational organization dedicated to providing free access to health education resources, products and services. Claims and statements herein are for informational purposes only and have not been evaluated by the Food and Drug Administration. The statements about organizations, practitioners, methods of treatment, and products listed on this website are not meant to diagnose, treat, cure, or prevent any disease. This information is intended for educational purposes only. The MBHA strongly recommends that you seek out your trusted medical doctor or practitioner for diagnosis and treatment of any existing health condition.

Leave a Reply

